Tuesday, December 1, 2015

CoxHealth creates Young Professionals Council to better connect to the community

In an effort to better align CoxHealth’s mission, vision and values to the needs of the community, the health care system has created the Young Professionals Council. This hand-picked group of civically engaged professionals, all between ages 21 to 39, will serve as a sounding board for the CoxHealth Leadership Team and Board of Directors.  
“As a locally governed health care system, it is important that we continue to expand our perspective to better understand our community's needs,” says Steve Edwards, CoxHealth president and CEO. “This council will be in a position to provide insight and influence to our leadership and Board of Directors, and we’re honored they agreed to serve.”
The charter council includes the following members:  
Logan Aguirre (417 Magazine)
Mike Brothers (Drury University)
Carrie Brown (Elliott, Robinson & Company, LLP)
Mitchell Cox (CoxHealth)
Teresa Coyan (CoxHealth)
Brad Erwin (Paragon Architects)
Scott Fitzpatrick (MariCorp U.S, State Representative, District 158)
Emily Johnson (Marlin Network)
Marshall Kinne (Med-Pay, Inc)
Marc Mayer (Great Southern Bank)
Megan Morris (Bass Pro Shops)
Krystal Russell (Payroll Vault)
Jeff Seifried (Branson Area Chamber of Commerce)
Bryan Simpson (5 Pound Apparel)
Stephanie Summers (Ozarks Technical Community College)
Besides providing collective feedback to CoxHealth leadership, the group will also directly influence CoxHealth’s Board of Directors: The council’s chairperson will serve as an ex-officio board member with vote.

“As our community grows, it’s important that we align and expand to serve it effectively and efficiently,” says Joe Turner, chairman of CoxHealth’s Board of Directors. “Having a member on our Board of Directors will ensure that the board’s direction reflects those needs.”
The council plans to meet quarterly, but may gather as often as six times per year. Members are appointed by the council’s chair, with advice and counsel from CoxHealth’s leadership, and will serve two-year terms.

Photo caption: Members of the CoxHealth Young Professionals Council gathered for the group’s orientation on Nov. 30. Pictured from left to right (front row) are Brad Erwin, Logan Aguirre, Stephanie Sumners, Krystal Russell, Megan Morris, Teresa Coyan; (back row) Mike Brothers, Marshall Kinne, Emily Johnson, Marc Mayer, Carrie Brown, Bryan Simpson and Mitchell Cox. Not pictured are Scott Fitzpatrick and Jeff Seifried.